The Path

It has been a couple of weeks since I last went on a run. I thought that it would not be smart to run with palpitations besides I was feeling fatigued most days. Both the mind and body were unwilling.
Today, I woke up at my usual time and it would seem that the whole world is still asleep. Today, I have decided to fight this lurgy that has kept me from my running shoes. Today, I am going to ‘shake it off’ as Taylor Swift’s song goes. Today, I am going to just put one foot in front of the other and just run.
So off I went! The problem and good thing about me when I am running is that I see beautiful things along the way… The sky, the flowers, the trees, the fallen leaves… There were a lot of stops along the way. But I persevere. This is my run, after all, I can take as many stops along the way as I want to and it can be as long as I need it to be.
image

Some weeks back on my run, I turned back from a path that I have never gone through before. The quietness of the path and its ‘unknown’ trail and end had filled me with anxiety at that time so I turned back. But this morning, there was no apprehension, just determination to go. If I take the same route each time then I am depriving myself of discovering new things. Fear of the unknown should not rule my life. It is only through pushing the boundaries that I can grow and conquer fear. So without hesitation, I walked into the path.

image
First off, I was pleasantly surprised by the bit of green on the side of the path. It was very picturesque with the fog. It almost feel like I am not where I am. Surreal. It almost feel like I am in a Jane Austen novel. Purposefully I walked along the path and took some pictures along the way. What surprised me is that it actually is not as long as I thought it would be. There were no unknown assailants hiding in the bushes ( as my ‘criminal minds addled brain’ was telling me). It was actually pretty ordinary. It led to another street that looks pretty similar from where I came from. There was no need to be afraid to enter it. It was just a path that leads somewhere else.

image image image image image
So feeling chuffed with myself, I returned to my usual route. If nothing else, this morning I realized that ultimately it is only myself who can hold me back. If I let fear to rule me all the time then I will stop growing and discovering. Now I know what is in that path, it does not hold my curiosity nor do I fear it. It is just a path.

Leave a Reply

