Baskers and the Songs of our Lives

One of the things I like about going to Kingston town centre is the fact that there will be baskers aplenty. At the very least, there will be one singing his/ her heart out and on weekends, there will be at least 3 with just approximately 50 feet distance between them.

The thing with baskers is that they  will be singing songs that stimulates our subconcious and take us back to yesteryears. Ok, this afternoon there were two guys basking along the main town centre. The first one was singing ‘Michelle’ by Paul McCartney. He was doing so well that I had to stop and and watch. He looks of Oriental descent and listening to him made me think that my friends and sister who are fond of K-drama would have loved him. Just a few steps from him was another basker singing, ‘Thinking Out Loud’ by Ed Sheeran. Both of them put a smile on my face as they both brought happy memories. The first one made me think of those lazy afternoons that Mama tries to get me to nap whilst listening to Beatles or Barry Manilow or Air Supply. The second one? Well, it is one of my favourite songs in 2015 to the point that I was declaring it to be my ‘wedding song’ -( as if that will happen! )

For somebody who claims to be and in reality is most likely is tonedeaf, I do love music. Whilst there are no singers in our family, music does fill our house. Mama will always have her casette tape of her favourite music playing until my older sisters grew up and taken control of the radio and cassette and vinyl player. We got Pop music blaring most of weekend- Menudo, Madonna, Cindy Lauper and Michael Jackson comes to mind.  We also have U2, Pearl Jam and Red Hot Chilli Peppers on the airwaves. When I became a teenager and there was no one else who can dictate what I listen to ( all older siblings have left the nest!), I became a Rock chick – Guns N’Roses, Bon Jovi, and Poison were my favourites. I never got into Black Sabbath or Metallica though but I do love live bands. Listening to Y101 countdown on Sundays whilst studying was the norm for me. As I grow older, it was more of Katie Melua, Il Divo, Michael Bubblé type of music that I tend to like.  Jazz and accoustics have become standard. I guess my music taste has to grow up too.

Consciously or unconsciously, we all have a playlist as background to our lives.  A few strums of strings can elicit the emotions, smells and colours of a memory of our lives. So I am thankful for these hardworking baskers as they help bring back the songs of our lives… that somehow, somewhere, these songs have become part of who we are.

So happy listening… ‘Hey Jude’ is now playing 😊

Leave a Reply

